Public Liability Insurance for Personal Trainers (2026)
No law requires personal trainers to hold insurance, but AUSactive registration requires public liability and professional indemnity, most gyms expect your own policy, and council park permits commonly ask for $20 million of public liability and $5 million to $10 million of professional indemnity. Public liability alone won't cover a client injured by your instruction; that's professional indemnity. Published prices start from $190 a year before taxes (Marsh), and BizCover's personal trainers average $31 a month.
What you’ll get from this guide: Work out which covers and limits your gyms, councils and registration body will ask for, what a personal trainer policy excludes, and how a quote compares with published 2026 prices.
- Insurance isn't a legal requirement for personal trainers, but AUSactive registration requires public liability and professional indemnity, and most gyms and councils won't let you train without a certificate.
- A client hurt by the exercise you prescribed is usually a professional indemnity claim. Someone tripping over your kettlebell is public liability. Personal trainers generally need both.
- Councils we checked ask for $10 million to $20 million public liability; Bayside wants $10 million PI and Adelaide $5 million PI on top.
- Published prices: Marsh from $190 a year premium only; AUSactive Professional Plus membership with insurance from $340 a year; BizCover personal trainers averaged $31 a month in 2023–24.
- Standard policies often exclude home studios, contact boxing and martial arts, powerlifting and nutrition advice beyond your qualification. Online training is often covered, but check.
- Before buying, match the limits to your highest council or gym requirement and check territory, online clients, children and subcontractor conditions.
Personal trainers aren't legally required to hold insurance, but in practice you can't work without it. AUSactive registration requires public liability and professional indemnity, gyms expect your own policy, and councils we checked want $10 million to $20 million of public liability for park training. Public liability alone won't cover a client hurt by your program. Published prices start at $190 a year before taxes.
This is general information, not financial product advice, and it doesn't consider your circumstances. Read the Product Disclosure Statement (PDS) and Target Market Determination (TMD) for any policy, and consider getting advice. For public liability in general, see our public liability insurance guide; for prices across occupations, how much public liability insurance costs; and for setting up, how to start a personal training business.
Personal trainer insurance at a glance
| Question | Short answer |
|---|---|
| Compulsory by law? | No. Guild Insurance says it isn't a legal requirement |
| Who requires it | AUSactive (for registration), gyms and studios, councils (for park and beach permits) |
| Covers you usually need | Public liability and professional indemnity, often with products liability, sold together |
| Limits councils ask for | $10m to $20m public liability; some also $5m to $10m professional indemnity |
| Common exclusions | Home studios, contact boxing and martial arts, powerlifting, nutrition advice beyond your qualification, overseas activities |
| Published prices | Marsh from $190 a year (premium only); AUSactive Professional Plus from $340 a year; BizCover average $31 a month (2023–24) |
As published by the sources named, checked 18 October 2026.
Do personal trainers need public liability insurance?
No law says so. Guild Insurance, which insures exercise professionals, states that it's not a legal requirement to hold public liability or product liability insurance, and there's no government licence for personal training. The requirement comes from four places:
- Registration. AUSactive registration is voluntary, but its registered and accredited members must hold "appropriate professional indemnity insurance and public liability insurance", their own or an employer's. AUSactive doesn't set a minimum amount for registration.
- Gyms and studios. Physical Activity Australia says it's a requirement of most employers, including gyms and studios, that you provide your own insurance. upcover says almost all commercial gyms and studios require personal trainers to hold their own cover.
- Councils. Training in parks and on beaches generally needs a council permit, and the permits we checked all require public liability, some with professional indemnity too.
- Your own assets. As a sole trader, you and the business are the same legal person. A client claiming for a serious injury can pursue you personally.
Public liability or professional indemnity: which covers a client injury?
This is the distinction that matters most for personal trainers, and it's where a policy bought on price alone can fail.
| What happens | Usually falls under | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A passer-by trips over your kettlebells in a park | Public liability | Injury to a third party caused by your business activity |
| A client breaks an ankle in a hole in the park during a session | Public liability (Raising the Bar's example) | Injury connected to the venue you chose, not your program |
| Your TRX straps scratch a client's car | Public liability | Damage to someone else's property (upcover's example) |
| You damage a wall during a home session | Public liability | Damage to the client's property |
| A client is hurt doing an exercise you didn't explain or demonstrate properly | Professional indemnity | Guild's example of a PI claim |
| You keep a client squatting despite back soreness and they need spinal surgery | Professional indemnity | BizCover reported this claim at more than $300,000, paid in full |
| A recovery or plyometric program makes an injury worse | Professional indemnity | Harm caused by your advice or programming (Finder, upcover) |
| A client sues because you "guaranteed" a result | Professional indemnity, if covered at all | Finder and Raising the Bar give this example; promising outcomes is a risk in itself |
| A protein shaker or band you sold injures someone | Products liability | Goods you sell or supply (Guild's example) |
| You tear a hamstring demonstrating a lift | Neither | Personal accident and illness cover replaces income |
| Your equipment is stolen from the car | Neither | Equipment or contents cover |
The practical rule: public liability covers accidents around the training, and professional indemnity covers the training itself. Most personal trainer policies sell both together, and many councils ask for both. Check that your schedule shows a professional indemnity limit, not only public liability. Our professional indemnity insurance guide explains how PI works, including its claims-made basis.
Council park and beach permits: what they require
| Council (state) | Public liability | Professional indemnity | Other conditions | Fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hornsby (NSW) | $20m | Not stated | Council noted as interested party; groups up to 18; senior first aid | Separate schedule |
| City of Sydney (NSW) | Certificate required (amount not stated) | Certificate required | Voluntary outdoor fitness code | No fee |
| City of Melbourne (Vic) | $20m | $5m | Permit for personal training and group fitness in parks | See council page |
| Bayside (Vic) | $20m | $10m | Up to 15 people, 15 one-hour sessions a week, 4 hours a day per location | $435.40 for 2026/27 |
| Stonnington (Vic) | $10m minimum | Not stated | Registration with a recognised peak body | No fee |
| City of Gold Coast (Qld) | $20m minimum | Not stated | Valid to 31 August; boot camps up to 18; sessions up to 90 minutes; Blue Card for clients under 18 | In council's fee register |
| Moreton Bay (Qld) | Not stated | Not stated | Council approval needed for training on public land | Not stated |
| City of Adelaide (SA) | $20m minimum | $5m minimum | Registration with Fitness Australia (now AUSactive); set hours | In council's fee schedule |
From each council's website, checked 18 October 2026. Yarra, Waverley, Port Phillip and Brisbane pages couldn't be loaded, so check them directly.
Three things to take from the table. $20 million is the common figure, so a $10 million policy can lock you out of most of these parks. Professional indemnity is sometimes required too, so a public liability-only policy won't get you a Bayside or Adelaide permit. And you need a permit for each council whose land you use. Several councils still name Fitness Australia, AUSactive's former name, in their registration conditions.
When a council asks to be noted as an interested party, ask your insurer to add it and send a certificate of currency showing it. Diarise the permit and policy renewal dates; Gold Coast permits run to 31 August and Bayside's to 30 June.
Gyms, studios and contract training
If you rent space or contract to a gym, assume the gym's policy protects the gym, not you. Raising the Bar warns, "Don't assume the gym's insurance will cover you, as it probably won't." Ask the gym:
- what public liability and professional indemnity limits it requires, in writing;
- whether it needs to be noted on your policy;
- whether its contract makes you indemnify the gym for things beyond your own negligence (read unfair contract terms before signing);
- whether you need AUSactive registration as well.
If you're an employee, you may be covered by your employer's policy, and AUSactive accepts an employer's insurance for registration. If you start hiring other trainers, check your policy: Marsh's personal trainer policy is for sole traders or employees with up to three subcontractors, and Finder flags trainers you hire as something to check with your insurer. Workers compensation applies once you employ staff; see workers compensation insurance and employee vs contractor.
Registration bodies and the insurance they offer
| Body or program | Registration cost | Insurance requirement | Insurance offered | Limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AUSactive (formerly Fitness Australia) | $160 for 12 months; $280 for 24 months; $16 a month by direct debit | Registered and accredited members must hold PL and PI (no minimum stated) | Professional Plus membership including insurance, from $340 a year; endorsed policy through Marsh | Professional Plus: $20m PL, $20m products, $10m PI. Endorsed policy: up to $20m public, product and advertising liability plus $10m PI |
| Physical Activity Australia | $199 for 2 years | Not stated as a registration condition | Insurance through Marsh | Not published |
| Marsh personal trainer policy | Membership not required | - | From $190 a year, premium only | Standard $10m PL, $10m products, $10m PI; Plus $20m, $20m, $10m |
| Guild exercise professional policy | - | - | Price on quote | Up to $20m, if selected |
As published, checked 18 October 2026. AUSactive's Professional Plus page doesn't name the insurer. First aid and CPR are required for AUSactive registration, and accredited members need 20 CPD points every two rolling years.
What personal trainer policies commonly exclude
| Activity or situation | What we found | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| Training at your home studio or backyard | Guild won't cover working from home, including your backyard; Marsh lists home studios as excluded but says training at your residence can be arranged on enquiry | Declare it; a home-based business may need a fitness centre policy |
| Contact boxing, sparring, martial arts | Guild covers boxercise with gloves and pads but not contact boxing or sparring; Marsh excludes martial arts | Combat coaches need specialist cover |
| Powerlifting, stand-up paddle boarding, pole, hiking, cargo nets | Excluded in Marsh's list | Ask before adding these to your services |
| Nutrition advice | Guild limits it to the Australian Dietary Guidelines and Eat for Health; Marsh excludes advice needing a diploma or higher | Stay within your qualification |
| Massage | Excluded by Marsh | Separate allied health cover |
| Overseas activities and clients | Marsh's standard policy excludes activities outside Australia and New Zealand; its AUSactive policy is worldwide except the USA and Canada | Check territory before coaching overseas clients online |
| Training children | Guild covers it with a current Working with Children Check and conditions; Gold Coast requires a Blue Card for clients under 18 | Hold the state check before training minors |
| Abuse allegations | upcover (8 October 2026) lists abuse, including sexual abuse, among professional indemnity exclusions | Ask how your policy treats it, especially if you train minors |
| Sports coaching | Marsh excludes coaching sports such as netball, cricket and football | Separate sports coaching cover |
Online training is the exception that usually works in your favour. Guild includes online and virtual classes, BizCover says virtual sessions can be covered, and Marsh says online operations don't increase its premium. upcover says online training must be on your schedule, so check rather than assume.
Covers that commonly sit alongside
| Cover | What it does | When personal trainers look at it |
|---|---|---|
| Professional indemnity | Claims that your instruction, program or advice caused injury or loss | Almost always; often bundled with PL |
| Products liability | Injury or damage from goods you sell or supply | Selling shakers, bands, supplements or apparel |
| Equipment or contents | Theft or damage to your gear | Mobile trainers carrying kit in a car, park bootcamps |
| Personal accident and illness | Replaces part of your income if you're injured or ill | Sole traders, who aren't covered by workers compensation |
| Cyber | Data breaches and online fraud | Storing client health information, taking online payments |
| Business pack or fitness centre policy | Premises, contents and business interruption | Running your own studio or home gym |
For the wider set of policies a self-employed trainer may need, see sole trader insurance, and for client records, our privacy policy guide.
What does personal trainer insurance cost?
| Source | Published figure | What it measures | Period |
|---|---|---|---|
| Marsh | From $190 a year | Premium only, before GST, stamp duty, levies and fees; Standard cover $10m PL, $10m products, $10m PI | Checked 18 October 2026 |
| AUSactive | From $340 a year | Professional Plus membership including $20m PL, $20m products, $10m PI | Checked 18 October 2026 |
| upcover | $150 to $600 a year | Combined public liability and professional indemnity package, typical range | Published 15 May 2026 |
| BizCover | $31 a month average | Average monthly payment by its personal trainer customers, all insurance bought | 1 July 2023 to 30 June 2024 |
| upcover | From about $450; typical about $1,008 a year | Client-facing services industry (beauty, personal training, allied health), total payable | Policies 2022 to 2026 (cost guide) |
All figures as published, checked 18 October 2026.
Reading the numbers. The figures don't line up exactly because they measure different things. Marsh's $190 is the cheapest premium before government charges and fees; add 10% GST and your state's stamp duty (0% in the ACT to 11% in South Australia). BizCover's $31 a month ($372 a year) is what its customers actually paid on average. upcover's industry figure covers beauty and allied health businesses too, which typically cost more than a solo trainer. Your price depends on your activities, limits, turnover, staff and claims history.
Worked example (illustrative). Suppose you take Marsh's Standard cover at its published $190 base premium and live in Queensland. GST is $190 × 10% = $19, making $209. Queensland's 9% duty on $209 is $18.81, so you'd pay about $227.81 before any broker fee. If a Bayside or Adelaide permit pushes you to $20 million public liability, ask for the Plus price too; Marsh's Plus option raises public and products liability to $20 million while PI stays at $10 million. Duty rates for every state are in our cost guide.
Premiums are generally tax deductible for a business, and GST-registered trainers can claim the GST credit. See sole trader tax deductions.
How much cover should a personal trainer have?
| Who's asking | Public liability | Professional indemnity |
|---|---|---|
| Hornsby, Bayside, Gold Coast and Adelaide councils | $20m | Bayside $10m; Adelaide $5m |
| Stonnington council | $10m | Not stated |
| AUSactive registration | Required, no minimum stated | Required, no minimum stated |
| Marsh Standard / Plus | $10m / $20m | $10m |
| BizCover options | $5m or $20m | $250,000 or $10m |
Start from the highest figure any council, gym or contract you work with will ask for in the next 12 months. If you train in more than one council area, the strictest permit sets your limit. Then compare the price of the next step up, because moving from $10 million to $20 million public liability is often a small change on the same policy.
Checklist before you buy
- Activities. The policy names everything you do: one-on-one, groups, bootcamps, online, home visits, outdoor, and any boxing, kettlebell, pilates or nutrition work.
- Both covers. The schedule shows a professional indemnity limit as well as public liability, plus products liability if you sell anything.
- Limits. Public liability meets your strictest council or gym ($20 million at most councils we checked); PI meets any council requirement ($5 million to $10 million).
- Locations. Home studio, backyard, client homes and every park you use are covered or declared.
- Territory. You know whether overseas online clients are covered.
- Children. You hold a Working with Children Check or Blue Card if you train minors, and know how the policy treats them.
- Qualifications. Your Certificate III or IV and first aid meet the policy's conditions (Marsh requires Certificate III or IV and written risk procedures).
- Subcontractors. You know how many other trainers the policy allows.
- Interested parties. Councils or gyms that must be noted are on your certificate.
- Income. You've considered personal accident and illness cover.
- Paperwork. You've saved the PDS, schedule and certificate of currency, and diarised policy and permit renewals.
Key takeaways
- Insurance isn't a legal requirement for personal trainers, but AUSactive registration requires public liability and professional indemnity, and most gyms and councils won't let you train without a certificate.
- A client hurt by the exercise you prescribed is usually a professional indemnity claim. Someone tripping over your kettlebell is public liability. Personal trainers generally need both.
- Councils we checked ask for $10 million to $20 million public liability; Bayside wants $10 million PI and Adelaide $5 million PI on top.
- Published prices: Marsh from $190 a year premium only; AUSactive Professional Plus membership with insurance from $340 a year; BizCover personal trainers averaged $31 a month in 2023–24.
- Standard policies often exclude home studios, contact boxing and martial arts, powerlifting and nutrition advice beyond your qualification. Online training is often covered, but check.
- Before buying, match the limits to your highest council or gym requirement and check territory, online clients, children and subcontractor conditions.
Where to get help
- AUSactive: registration and insurance requirements for exercise professionals.
- Physical Activity Australia: insurance information for registered trainers.
- Your local council for outdoor training permits, limits and fees; each council sets its own.
- Your state's working with children screening body before training anyone under 18.
- business.gov.au: business insurance and links to registers of insurers and brokers.
- Moneysmart (ASIC): moneysmart.gov.au for guidance on buying insurance and reading a PDS.
- Australian Financial Complaints Authority: afca.org.au if an insurer refuses a claim you think is covered.
Related tasks
See all our business insurance guides.
Did this guide help you finish your task?
Optional feedback helps us see which guides need more work.
Feedback is off while site analytics is unavailable or disabled.
We report your choice and this guide’s page through site analytics. Your analytics preference applies. About feedback and privacy.
Where to go from here
Public Liability Insurance: Cover, Limits and Who Needs It
Explore a related question linked in this guide.
21 min readHow Much Is Public Liability Insurance? Costs in 2026
Explore a related question linked in this guide.
24 min readHow to Start a Personal Training Business in Australia
Explore a related question linked in this guide.
10 min read
Frequently asked questions
Do personal trainers need insurance in Australia?
Not by law. Guild Insurance says it isn't a legal requirement to hold public liability or product liability insurance. In practice you'll need it: AUSactive's registered and accredited members must hold appropriate professional indemnity and public liability insurance, Physical Activity Australia says most gyms and studios require you to provide your own, and councils require it for outdoor training permits.
How much is personal trainer insurance in Australia?
Published figures as at October 2026: Marsh's personal trainer policy starts from $190 a year for the premium only, before GST, stamp duty and fees, for $10 million public liability, products and professional indemnity. AUSactive's Professional Plus membership including insurance is from $340 a year. upcover says combined packages typically cost $150 to $600 a year, and BizCover's personal trainer customers averaged $31 a month in 2023–24.
Does public liability cover me if a client gets injured during a session?
It depends how the injury happened. If a client trips over equipment or a bystander is hurt, public liability usually responds. If the client says your instruction, program or advice caused the injury, that's generally a professional indemnity claim. Guild gives the example of a trainer failing to explain or demonstrate an exercise correctly. BizCover reported a claim over a squat program that led to spinal surgery and cost more than $300,000.
How much insurance do I need to train clients in a park?
Check your council's permit conditions. Of the councils we checked, Hornsby, Bayside, Gold Coast and Adelaide require $20 million public liability, and Stonnington $10 million. Bayside also requires $10 million professional indemnity and Adelaide $5 million. Hornsby requires the council to be noted as an interested party. Bayside's 2026–27 permit costs $435.40, while Stonnington charges no fee.
Does AUSactive require personal trainers to have insurance?
AUSactive registration is voluntary, but registered and accredited members must hold appropriate professional indemnity and public liability insurance, either their own or through an employer. AUSactive doesn't publish minimum amounts for registration. Its Professional Plus membership, from $340 a year, includes $20 million public liability, $20 million product liability and $10 million professional indemnity. Registration is $160 for 12 months or $280 for 24 months.
Does the gym's insurance cover me as a contract personal trainer?
Usually not. Raising the Bar, a fitness industry magazine, warns not to assume the gym's insurance will cover you, and upcover says almost all commercial gyms and studios require personal trainers to hold their own insurance. Employees may be covered by their employer's policy, and AUSactive accepts an employer's policy for registration. If you're a contractor, ask the gym for its required limits in writing.
Am I covered for online personal training?
Often, but check the schedule. Guild's exercise professional policy includes online and virtual classes, BizCover says its fitness insurance can cover virtual sessions, and Marsh says online operations don't increase its premium. Territory is the catch: Marsh's standard policy excludes activities outside Australia and New Zealand, so ask how clients who live overseas are treated before you sell programs internationally.
Am I covered training clients in my home studio or backyard?
Often not under a standard personal trainer policy. Guild says its exercise professional policy won't cover working from home, including your backyard, and points home-based businesses to a separate fitness centre policy. Marsh lists home studios as an exclusion, while saying training clients at your own residence can be arranged on enquiry. Tell your insurer exactly where you train.
Am I covered for nutrition advice or boxing classes?
Only within limits. Guild covers nutrition advice within your scope of practice, limited to the Australian Dietary Guidelines and Eat for Health guidelines, and Marsh excludes nutrition advice that needs a diploma or higher. Guild covers boxercise with gloves and pads but not contact boxing or sparring, and Marsh excludes martial arts. Combat coaches usually need a specialist policy.
General information only. This guide doesn't take your personal or business circumstances into account and isn't financial, legal or tax advice. Rates and thresholds change — check the official sources linked in this guide and get qualified advice where your circumstances require it.