Best Website Builder Australia 2026: Prices & Fees Compared

For business ownersDecision guide

There is no single best builder. On October 2026 prices and features, Wix Light suits a simple service site that must load fast on phones, Squarespace suits design-led consultants, Shopify suits product sellers, and Square Online with Square Appointments suits cafes and booking-based businesses already on Square. A five-page site with a .com.au and one mailbox costs about A$129 to A$633 in year one. No major builder publishes an Australian data centre; VentraIP says its free VIPsites builder keeps data in Australia.

What you’ll get from this guide: Pick a website builder for your type of business, budget its real first-year cost including domain, email and card fees, and launch it with the Australian legal and GST settings right.

  • A five-page site with a .com.au and one mailbox costs about A$129 to A$633 in year one on October 2026 prices; most builders land between A$200 and A$430.
  • For a store taking A$50,000 a year online, card and platform fees outweigh the subscription: year-one totals for the plans we compared run from about A$1,263 (Hostinger Unlimited) to A$2,605 (Webflow Standard).
  • No major builder publishes an Australian data centre. VentraIP says data on its free VIPsites builder stays in Australia.
  • A .com.au needs an active ABN, ACN, ARBN or Australian trade mark and a name that matches your business or what you sell. Register it yourself at an Australian registrar.
  • Read the fine print: Wix Payments is not offered in Australia, Squarespace Basic adds a 2% store fee and GoDaddy's annual price is a first-year discount.
  • Lock-in varies: Wix sites cannot be exported and Squarespace exports only part of a site, while WordPress.com Business and Commerce include a full backup you can move.

The best website builder for an Australian small business depends on the job. Wix suits a fast, simple service site, Squarespace suits design-led consultants, Shopify suits product sellers, and Square Online suits cafes and booking-based businesses already using Square. On October 2026 prices, a five-page site with a .com.au domain and one mailbox costs about A$129 to A$633 in year one.

This page compares ten builders on what matters in Australia: prices in Australian dollars, store and card fees, .com.au rules, where your data sits, page speed, bookings, GST settings, email and how hard it is to leave. If you haven't planned the pages yet, start with our DIY guide to building a small business website. For freelancer and agency price bands, see what a small business website costs.

Quick picks by business type

Our picks use stated criteria: published price, the features each business type needs, Australian payment and GST support, mobile Core Web Vitals data and how easily you can leave. We didn't build test sites, and no provider paid for inclusion. Costs are year one, as at October 2026, and include a .com.au and one mailbox.

Business Our pick Runner-up Why Year-one cost of pick
Tradie or service business Wix Light Squarespace Basic Highest share of Australian sites passing Core Web Vitals on mobile; simple forms About A$423
Cafe or restaurant Square Online (with Square POS) Wix Core Menu syncs with your Square items; pickup, delivery and QR ordering A$560.75 on Plus
Online store Shopify Basic Squarespace Core Most complete store tools; Shopify Payments at 1.7% + 30c A$1,632.75 at A$50,000 of sales
Consultant or portfolio Squarespace Core Webflow Basic Design quality, AUD pricing, a year of Google Workspace included A$345.95
Booking-based (salon, PT) Square Appointments + Square Online Wix Core A$0 a month for one location, unlimited calendars, booking site and prepayments A$0 a month plus 2.2% on online payments
Data kept in Australia VentraIP VIPsites WordPress on Australian hosting Only builder we found that says your data stays in Australia A$128.75

What changed in 2026

  • Wix now shows Australians US dollar prices "for reference only", with the final price shown on the purchase page. Wix Payments still isn't offered in Australia, so Wix stores connect another provider.
  • GoDaddy sells its builder as Airo AI Builder with Starter, Professional and Ultimate plans. Online payments and appointment bookings need Professional, and "Remove Airo branding" was marked "coming soon".
  • Webflow's site plans are now Basic and a new Premium plan that carries the CMS.
  • Card surcharges ended on 1 October 2026 for Visa, Mastercard, American Express and eftpos cards, according to the ACCC. Check that no surcharge setting is switched on in your store or booking tool.
  • auDA's wholesale .au price is A$9.50 a year ex GST from 1 October 2026.
  • Card rates fell slightly. Shopify Payments' domestic online rate on Basic is 1.7% + 30c, down from the 1.75% we recorded in September in our online store guide. Stripe's is 1.65% + A$0.30.
  • Square calls its Square Online paid plans "legacy" in the US and is moving American sellers to new Square plans. The Australian plans page still sold Plus and Premium when we checked.

Website builder prices in Australia

Monthly prices as listed on 18 October 2026. "Annual" is the per-month price when you pay a year upfront. Approximate AUD conversions use the RBA rate of US$0.6947 on 16 October 2026.

Builder and plan Billed monthly Billed annually (per month) What the tier adds
Squarespace (AUD, excludes GST)
Basic A$24 A$17 Unlimited products and services with a 2% store fee; 2 contributors
Core A$39 A$28 0% store fee, discounts, shipping labels, carrier rates; Google Workspace free for year one
Plus A$69 A$49 Lower card rate (1.6% + 30c)
Advanced A$149 A$109 Lowest card rate (1.4% + 30c); unlimited video
Wix (USD shown, "price includes GST")
Light Not shown US$17 (about A$24) 2 GB storage, domain voucher for a year; no payments
Core Not shown US$29 (about A$42) 50 GB, accept payments, basic ecommerce, scheduling
Business Not shown US$39 (about A$56) 100 GB, standard ecommerce
Business Elite Not shown US$159 (about A$229) Unlimited storage, advanced ecommerce
Shopify (AUD)
Basic A$56 A$42 Full store; 2% extra if you don't use Shopify Payments
Grow A$149 A$114 5 staff accounts; cheaper card rates
Advanced A$575 A$431 15 staff accounts; cheapest card rates
WordPress.com (AUD, excludes taxes)
Personal A$14 A$6 Plugins and premium themes, 6 GB, no ads
Premium A$27 A$12 13 GB, payment buttons, full stats
Business A$60 A$38 50 GB, full backups, choice of US or EU data centre, email free for a year
Commerce A$106 A$68 WooCommerce built in, 0% platform fee
Hostinger (AUD, prepaid)
Premium Not offered A$4.39 for 48 months upfront (A$210.72), renews at A$15.89 Up to 3 sites, 2 mailboxes per site and a domain free for a year
Unlimited Not offered A$5.79 for 48 months (A$277.92), renews at A$24.59 Unlimited sites, ecommerce, email marketing
Cloud Startup Not offered A$11.59 for 48 months (A$556.32), renews at A$37.59 As Unlimited, with more AI credits (1,000 against 500)
GoDaddy Airo (AUD)
Starter A$32.95 A$14.95 (first-year discount) 1 site, payment links and QR codes, domain on annual plans
Professional A$79.95 A$39.95 (first-year discount) Up to 10 sites, online payments and deposits, appointment bookings, product catalogue
Ultimate A$329.95 A$149.95 (first-year discount) Up to 50 sites, team tools, priority support
Square Online (AUD)
Free A$0 A$0 2.2% online card fee, Square branding, syncs with Square POS
Plus Not shown A$36 Branding removed, domain free for a year, QR code ordering
Premium Not shown A$99 Online card fee drops to 1.9%
Webflow (USD per site, plus tax)
Basic Not shown US$15 (about A$22) 300 static pages, no CMS
Premium Not shown US$25 (about A$36) CMS with 20,000 items
Ecommerce Standard Not shown US$29 (about A$42) 500 products, 2% transaction fee
Ecommerce Plus Not shown US$74 (about A$107) 5,000 products, 0% transaction fee
Duda (USD)
Basic US$25 (about A$36) US$19 (about A$27) 1 site; ecommerce and bookings cost extra
Agency US$69 US$52 4 sites, site export
VentraIP VIPsites Free Free Builder, hosting and SSL included; you buy the domain

Duda is built for agencies selling sites to clients, so most owners meet it through a web designer. Self-hosted WordPress and Rocketspark (A$39 to A$130 a month, excluding GST) are other options; our cost guide covers WordPress hosting.

GST on the subscription itself

Squarespace, WordPress.com, Webflow and Duda quote prices before tax. Squarespace says Australians who don't certify GST registration pay 10% GST on top, while registered businesses that enter their ABN aren't charged it. Our guide to GST on overseas software subscriptions explains how to read these invoices at BAS time.

Online store fees: platform and card costs

What you pay per sale is usually a bigger number than the plan. Rates are for domestic cards taken online, as at 18 October 2026.

Builder Platform fee on sales Card processing Notes
Shopify 0% with Shopify Payments; 2% on Basic with another provider (1% Grow, 0.6% Advanced) 1.7% + 30c on Basic, 1.55% Grow, 1.35% Advanced Amex 2.9% + 30c; international cards 3.5% + 30c
Squarespace 2% on Basic; 0% on Core and above Squarespace Payments 1.8% + 30c on Basic and Core, 1.6% Plus, 1.4% Advanced Premium and international cards 2.9% + 30c; optional automated tax adds 0.05% to 0.15% (capped at A$1.59 a transaction)
Wix None listed on the plans page Wix Payments not offered in Australia; you pay your provider's rate Stripe and PayPal are named providers
WordPress.com 8% Personal, 4% Premium, 2% Business on payment blocks; 0% on Commerce and on WooCommerce payments Your provider's rate Business plan can run WooCommerce as a plugin
Hostinger "0% transaction fees" Your provider's rate Ecommerce listed on Unlimited and Cloud Startup
GoDaddy Airo Not published for Australia Not published Its Australian site had no GoDaddy Payments page; confirm which providers work before building a store
Square Online None 2.2% (Free and Plus), 1.9% (Premium) No fixed per-transaction fee
Webflow 2% on Standard; 0% on Plus and Advanced Stripe or PayPal rate
Benchmarks Stripe 1.65% + A$0.30; PayPal 2.90% + A$0.30 Stripe international cards 3.5% + A$0.30

Two illustrative break-even points:

  • Squarespace Basic or Core? Core costs A$132 a year more on annual billing but removes the 2% store fee. It pays for itself once online sales pass A$6,600 a year (A$132 ÷ 2%). In the store example below, Basic would cost A$2,382.75 in year one against Core's A$1,395.95.
  • Shopify Basic or Squarespace Core? Shopify Basic costs A$168 a year more but charges 0.1 percentage point less per sale. On fees alone, Shopify only becomes cheaper above about A$168,000 a year in sales. Paid apps change that maths, so price the apps you need.

Since 1 October 2026 you can't pass card costs on as a surcharge for Visa, Mastercard, Amex or eftpos cards, so build them into your prices. Our card surcharge checklist walks through every payment channel.

What each builder costs in year one

Two illustrative budgets. The service site is five pages with a contact form. The online store takes A$50,000 a year in online card sales from 500 orders of A$100, all on domestic cards. Both include a .com.au from VentraIP at A$9.95 for the first year and one Google Workspace Business Starter mailbox at A$118.80 a year (excluding tax), unless the plan includes email for year one. Plans are billed annually at standard prices.

Builder (plans used) Service site, year one Online store, year one Notes
Squarespace (Basic; Core) A$332.75 A$1,395.95 Core includes Google Workspace for year one; prices exclude GST
Wix (Light; Core) About A$423 About A$1,605 Converted from USD; store assumes Stripe's rate
Shopify (Basic; Basic) A$632.75 A$1,632.75 Built for selling; poor value for a site that only needs calls
WordPress.com (Personal; Business with WooCommerce) A$200.75 A$1,440.95 Excludes tax; Business includes email for year one; store assumes Stripe's rate
Hostinger (Premium; Unlimited) A$220.67 A$1,262.87 Pays 48 months upfront; then renews at A$15.89 or A$24.59 a month
GoDaddy Airo (Starter; Professional) A$308.15 A$1,583.15 First-year discount; store assumes Stripe-level card fees
Square Online (Plus; Plus) A$560.75 A$1,660.75 Free plan: A$0 plus A$1,100 in card fees, with Square branding
Webflow (Basic; Ecommerce Standard) About A$388 About A$2,605 Converted from USD, plus tax; includes the 2% platform fee
Duda (Basic) About A$457 Not published Ecommerce priced separately
VentraIP VIPsites A$128.75 Not listed VentraIP's page doesn't mention store features

The store column shows why plan price is the wrong thing to compare: Shopify Basic's A$504 subscription is smaller than its A$1,000 in card fees. In year two, add the domain at its standard price (A$22.95 at VentraIP) and check your plan's renewal price. Hostinger's 48-month prepayment means your next big bill arrives in year five.

.com.au domains: eligibility, cost and where to buy

auDA sets the rules for .au names. Its com.au eligibility page says .com.au names are for "commercial entities registered to trade in Australia or that hold an Australian trade mark". In practice you need one of:

  • an active ABN or ACN (the most common route; our guide shows how to register an ABN for free);
  • an ARBN, for foreign companies registered to trade in Australia; or
  • an Australian trade mark or trade mark application.

The name must connect to you: your business or personal name, an acronym of your business name, a match with your Australian trade mark, a match to a related Australian company, partnership or trust, or a match or synonym of what you do (a service, goods you sell, an activity you teach or a venue you run). You must stay eligible the whole time you hold it, and auDA says eligibility is verified at registration and renewal. Terms run from one to five years.

The shorter .au direct names (yourbusiness.au) only need a validated Australian connection, such as being a citizen, permanent resident, Australian-registered organisation or Australian trade mark holder. Register both if they're free.

Where you buy .com.au, first year Standard or listed price Catch
VentraIP A$9.95 A$22.95 ("was" price)
Hostinger A$9.99 A$20.29 listed
GoDaddy A$0.05 A$21.95 for each additional year 3-year purchase required
Squarespace Domains A$18.90 A$27 listed
auDA wholesale (for comparison) A$9.50 a year ex GST from 1 October 2026 Set for all .au namespaces

Prices checked 18 October 2026. Most builders include a domain voucher for the first year on annual plans, but read the terms: Wix says its voucher only covers a new domain bought from Wix and can't renew one you already own.

Three habits save grief. Register the domain in your business's name with an email you control. Keep it at an Australian registrar rather than inside the builder, so you can switch platforms by changing DNS records. And know about transfer locks: Squarespace, Wix, Shopify and WordPress.com all say a domain registered through them can't be transferred out for 60 days after registration, and GoDaddy says domains bought in a bundle can't move for 120 days. Before registering, check the name with our guides to choosing a business name and trade marks.

Where your site is hosted, and how fast it loads

None of the major builders publishes an Australian data centre or a data residency option. They serve pages through content delivery networks, which cache copies nearer your visitors, so hosting location matters less for speed than it once did. It still matters if a client contract, industry rule or your own preference requires data to stay onshore.

Builder What the provider says about hosting Australian option Published uptime claim
Squarespace "Tier III data centers across the United States", with CDNs for images and files No No percentage given
Wix Google Cloud, AWS and Fastly plus its own data centres; "over 200 CDN nodes" No; you can't choose a server "99.99% uptime"
Shopify No data centre locations published; Australian personal data received by Shopify Commerce Singapore Not stated 99.99% on average during its biggest sales events (Shopify Plus page)
WordPress.com Business plan chooses US West, US Central, US East or EU West; CDN across "28+ data centers on 6 continents" No "More than 99.99% uptime" since 2005
Hostinger Builder data centres not named; served through its own CDN, which lists Sydney among CDN locations No Australian server listed Not found
GoDaddy Airo Not published; Australian privacy notice says data may go to the United States Not stated Not found for the builder
Square Online Australian privacy notice says data may be stored outside Australia, including in the US, Canada, Japan, Ireland, France, Spain and the UK None found Not found
Webflow AWS with Cloudflare's CDN; both listed as US subprocessors None found 99.99%, but contractual only on Enterprise
Duda AWS; region not stated Not stated "99.5% uptime guarantee"
VentraIP VIPsites "When you store your data with VentraIP, it stays right here in Australia." Yes Not stated

Page speed: how many real sites pass Core Web Vitals

No builder publishes independent speed figures for its customers' sites, so we used the HTTP Archive Technology Report. It shows the share of sites on each platform that pass all three of Google's Core Web Vitals (loading, responsiveness and layout stability) for real Chrome users. Figures are for September 2026, on mobile.

Platform Australia, mobile (sites measured) Worldwide, mobile
Wix 86.2% (2,856) 80.9%
Duda 78.2% (712) 85.8%
Shopify 76.5% (22,851) 76.2%
Webflow 71.1% (1,977) 71.3%
WordPress.com 63.0% (551) 70.8%
Squarespace 52.3% (4,006) 71.0%
All WordPress sites, mostly self-hosted 50.2% (43,579) 48.3%
Weebly 12.2% (1,037) 41.1%
GoDaddy Website Builder Sample too small 82.0%
Hostinger Website Builder Sample too small 51.3%

Read this as a platform tendency, not a promise about your site. Squarespace's Australian figure sat between 68% and 70% from April to July 2026 before dropping in August and September, so watch whether it recovers. We left out Square Online because its data reads 0% every month, which looks like a measurement problem. Your own photos, embeds and apps decide most of your score: test your live site with Google's PageSpeed Insights, and see our SEO basics guide for what slows sites down.

Australian-hosted options

  • VentraIP VIPsites: a free builder with free hosting and SSL. You pay for the domain (A$9.95 for the first year for a .com.au, as at 18 October 2026). VentraIP's page doesn't list store, booking or page-limit details, so check them before you commit.
  • Shared hosting with a drag-and-drop builder: Dreamit Host lets you choose Melbourne, Sydney or Perth servers (or Auckland), with plans from A$6.95 a month including GST and over 190 templates. You manage more yourself than on Wix or Squarespace.
  • Self-hosted WordPress on Australian hosting: the most flexible route and the easiest to move later, at the cost of updates and backups. Our website cost guide covers Australian hosting prices.

Booking and appointment features

Builder Built-in booking? What it costs (as at October 2026) Good to know
Wix Yes, "Scheduling and services" Included from Core (US$29 a month, about A$42) Light doesn't list payments or scheduling
Squarespace Through Acuity Scheduling Starter A$20 a month billed annually (A$22 monthly), 1 calendar; Standard A$37 (A$40), up to 6; Premium A$68 (A$74), up to 36 Payments and deposits through Stripe, Square or PayPal
Square Appointments Yes, with a free booking site Free for one location; Plus A$40 and Premium A$90 per location a month Unlimited calendars; no-show fees need Plus; online card payments 2.2%
GoDaddy Airo Yes Professional, A$39.95 a month billed annually (first year) Deposits and online payments on the same plan
Shopify Not listed on its plans Third-party apps Suits product sellers who also book services
WordPress.com Via plugins Plugin prices vary Plugins available from the Personal plan
Hostinger Mentions "appointment booking options" for service businesses Plan details not stated Check the feature in the free trial
Webflow Not listed Embed a scheduling tool
Duda Needs an "eCommerce & Bookings" plan Not published on the pricing page

On annual billing, one practitioner's year-one cost for the booking tool plus a site comes to about A$501 on Wix Core, A$444 on Squarespace Basic with Acuity Starter, A$479.40 on GoDaddy Professional, and A$0 on Square Appointments Free with its booking site (A$480 if you need Plus for no-show fees). Domain and email are extra.

GST settings for online stores

You must register for GST once your GST turnover reaches $75,000, according to the ATO. Our guide to registering for GST covers the decision if you're under that. Once registered, set up your store so prices include GST and receipts show it.

  • Shopify: Australian stores use Shopify's Basic Tax service, which asks you to add your tax registration under Settings, then Taxes and duties. Turn on "Include taxes in product prices" so the price customers see already includes GST.
  • Squarespace: add a tax rate, then under "How tax is added" choose "Include in price"; the GST portion shows as a line at checkout and in order emails. Squarespace can't set different tax rules for different products. Its automated tax option covers GST, but its help page doesn't name Australia, so confirm before paying the per-transaction fee.
  • WooCommerce (WordPress.com Business or Commerce): set "Prices entered with tax" to include tax, choose "Including tax" for "Display prices in the shop", and add a 10% standard rate for Australia.
  • Wix, Square, GoDaddy, Hostinger and Webflow: all have tax settings; before launch, check you can enter GST-inclusive prices and that receipts show the GST amount. GoDaddy describes its feature as "Calculate sales tax automatically", which is US terminology, so test it with an Australian address.

Whatever the platform, place a test order and compare the receipt with the price shown. The ACCC says consumers must see a single total price including GST; only prices shown solely to other businesses can exclude it. If you sell from stock imported from overseas, our online store guide covers the import GST rules.

SEO controls

Every builder here says it includes SEO tools: Squarespace and GoDaddy on all plans, Square Online on its free plan, Hostinger with an automatic sitemap, and Wix as a "built-in marketing and SEO" suite. WordPress.com opens the 60,000-plus plugin library from its Personal plan, which includes the well-known SEO plugins. The differences are in the edges:

  • Shopify lets you edit page titles, meta descriptions and image alt text, but you can't redirect URLs on its fixed paths (/products, /collections, /collections/all), so your URL structure is set for you.
  • Closed builders (Wix, Squarespace, Square Online, GoDaddy) control the code. That's fine for a small site but limits advanced fixes later.
  • WordPress and Webflow give the most control, if you or your designer will use it.

Before you commit, check in the free trial that you can edit each page's title and meta description, set clean URL slugs, add 301 redirects, edit alt text and get an automatic sitemap. Then follow our guides to SEO basics and local SEO, and connect your Google Business Profile.

Email hosting costs

A builder plan rarely includes ongoing email. Prices as at 18 October 2026:

Option Cost Notes
Google Workspace Business Starter (direct) A$9.90 per user a month on an annual plan, excluding tax Squarespace Core and above include the first year of Workspace Starter
Microsoft 365 Business Basic (direct) AU$10.50 per user a month paid yearly, or AU$12.60 monthly, excluding GST Includes web versions of Office apps
GoDaddy Microsoft 365 Email Essentials A$3.50 per mailbox a month for the first year, then A$13.95 Renewal is four times the intro price
Hostinger business email From A$0.59 per mailbox a month (48 months upfront), renewing at A$2.29 Builder plans include mailboxes free for a year
WordPress.com Free business email for a year on Business and Commerce Then pay for email or move it
Wix Sells Google Workspace as an add-on Price not shown on the plans page
Shopify No email hosting Its help centre describes forwarding only and points to third-party hosts

Our comparison of Google Workspace and Microsoft 365 helps you choose. Email bought separately from the builder stays put when you change platforms.

Lock-in: what you can take with you

Builder What you can export What stays behind
Wix Product lists, orders, contacts, CMS collections The site itself: Wix says its architecture "does not support external hosting"
Squarespace Pages and one blog in a WordPress format; products and contacts as CSV Store pages, product blocks, styles, custom CSS; images can't be exported in bulk
Shopify Products, customers and orders as CSV Product images aren't in the product CSV
WordPress.com Content export on all plans; full backup (database, media, themes, plugins) on Business and Commerce Theme and design aren't in the basic export
Hostinger Content to WordPress (manual mode) Layout, store, forms and SEO settings; its AI Builder page says code can be exported, which conflicts with the help article
GoDaddy Airo Project files and code as a zip on paid plans Check how the store and bookings work outside GoDaddy
Square Online Item library No site export documented in Square's Australian help centre
Webflow Code export on Workspace plans; CMS and store data as CSV CMS and ecommerce functionality in exported code
Duda Site as a zip on Agency plans and above; products as CSV, blog as RSS Store, dynamic pages, member data

If you might outgrow a builder, WordPress.com Business, Webflow or self-hosted WordPress keep the most options open. Moving off Wix or Squarespace means rebuilding the site.

Picks by business type

Tradie or service business

Pick: Wix Light. Runner-up: Squarespace Basic. A service site needs five pages, a quote form, click-to-call and Google reviews, and it gets judged on a phone. Wix had the highest share of Australian sites passing Core Web Vitals on mobile in September 2026 (86.2%), and Light costs about A$423 in year one with domain and email. Squarespace Basic is cheaper (A$332.75 excluding GST) with cleaner templates, but its Australian mobile pass rate fell that month. If you'd rather your data stayed in Australia and only need a simple site, VentraIP VIPsites costs only the domain. If you later want online quote payments or bookings, Wix Core adds both. Job management and quoting tools are covered in our guide to job management software for tradies.

Cafe or restaurant

Pick: Square Online with Square POS. Runner-up: Wix Core. If you already run Square at the counter, Square Online's free plan syncs your items, takes pickup and delivery orders and supports weekend and public holiday surcharging. Plus (A$36 a month, billed annually) removes Square branding and adds QR code ordering. Online orders cost 2.2% each, so compare that with your in-person rate. Watch Square's plan changes: in the US its Square Online paid plans are now "legacy". Our Square vs Tyro comparison covers the counter side, and the ACCC's menu wording rule for weekend surcharges is in the legal checklist below.

Online store

Pick: Shopify Basic. Runner-up: Squarespace Core. Shopify has the deepest store features, handles Australian tax through its Basic Tax service and charges 1.7% + 30c on domestic cards with Shopify Payments. Squarespace Core costs less at A$50,000 a year in sales (A$1,395.95 against A$1,632.75 in our example) and includes a year of email, but has fewer store tools. If you want control and an easy exit, WordPress.com Business with WooCommerce came in at A$1,440.95. Avoid Squarespace Basic for a store: its 2% fee made it the second most expensive option in our example after Webflow Standard. Our online store guide covers shipping and returns.

Consultant, freelancer or portfolio

Pick: Squarespace Core. Runner-up: Webflow Basic. A consultant's site sells trust through design and writing. Squarespace Core (A$28 a month billed annually, excluding GST) includes a year of Google Workspace, so year one comes to A$345.95 with a .com.au. Webflow Basic (US$15 a month, about A$22) gives a designer more control. If you'll publish a lot of articles, WordPress.com keeps your content portable.

Booking-based business (salon, PT, clinic)

Pick: Square Appointments with its free booking site. Runner-up: Wix Core. Square Appointments' free plan covers one location with unlimited calendars, online booking, prepayments and a booking website, with no monthly fee. You pay 2.2% on online payments, and A$40 a month per location if you want no-show fees. Wix Core includes scheduling with a fuller website for about A$42 a month on annual billing. Squarespace with Acuity Starter is the design-led choice at A$444 a year combined. Personal trainers also need cover; see our public liability guide for personal trainers.

DIY or hire a web designer?

Situation Do it yourself on a builder Hire a designer
Pages needed Up to about ten, from a template Many unique layouts or a custom design
Features Forms, bookings, a simple store Integrations with your job, stock or accounting software; custom logic
Your time You can spend a few weekends Your billable hours are worth more than the build
Words and photos You can write and shoot them You need a copywriter and photographer as well
What the site must earn A few enquiries a month Each new customer is worth thousands

A useful middle path: pay a designer to set up a Squarespace, Wix or WordPress site in your own account, then edit it yourself. Make sure the domain, builder account and email are in your name. Our guide to small business website costs sets out freelancer and agency price bands, the questions to ask and the red flags in quotes.

General information only; get advice for your situation.

  • Privacy policy. The Privacy Act covers businesses with annual turnover over $3 million, and some smaller ones regardless, including health service providers, businesses that trade in personal information and AML/CTF reporting entities, according to the OAIC. Forms, bookings and analytics all collect personal information, so a clear policy is worth having anyway. Read do you need a privacy policy?.
  • Website terms and conditions. An online store needs terms on payment, delivery and refunds that match the consumer guarantees. See website terms and conditions and the unfair contract terms rules.
  • Single total price. The ACCC requires the displayed price to be one figure including GST and unavoidable or pre-selected fees. Prices shown only to other businesses can exclude GST.
  • No drip pricing. Tell customers at the start of checkout what fees will apply and when.
  • Honest "was" prices. A sale price can only compare with a price you actually charged for a reasonable period beforehand.
  • No card surcharges on Visa, Mastercard, Amex or eftpos from 1 October 2026. Turn off surcharge settings in your store, booking and invoicing tools.
  • Weekend surcharges (cafes and restaurants). The menu must say "A surcharge of [percentage] applies on [day or days]", at least as prominently as the most prominent price.
  • Refunds. Don't promise "no refunds"; the consumer guarantees still apply. See refunds and consumer guarantees.
  • Claims. "Best in Brisbane" or "award-winning" must be true and provable. See false advertising penalties.
  • Email marketing. Spam Act rules apply to newsletters sent from your builder; our email marketing guide covers consent and unsubscribes.
  • Domain eligibility. Stay eligible for your .com.au (an active ABN or ACN) for as long as you hold it.

Launch checklist for a builder site

This list covers the platform settings. For page content, use the launch checklist in our DIY website guide.

  1. Domain registered in your business's name, auto-renew on, and connected to the builder; both www and non-www addresses load over HTTPS.
  2. Paid plan active and builder branding removed (on GoDaddy Airo this was still "coming soon").
  3. Email records (MX, SPF, DKIM and DMARC) set up as your email provider's setup guide describes, then a test email sent and received.
  4. Replacing an old site? Add 301 redirects from old page addresses to the new ones.
  5. Store: GST setting matches your registration, prices entered GST-inclusive, a real test order placed and refunded, and the receipt checked.
  6. No card surcharge switched on anywhere at checkout.
  7. Bookings: time zone set to your state (Queensland and WA don't use daylight saving), and a test booking, reminder and cancellation sent.
  8. Privacy policy, terms and refund policy linked in the footer and at checkout.
  9. Google Search Console verified and sitemap submitted; analytics on.
  10. Google Business Profile website link updated.
  11. First export saved (products, contacts and content), so you have a copy outside the builder.
  12. Renewal dates in your calendar for the plan, domain and email, with a reminder before any intro price ends.

Once you're live, run your site through PageSpeed Insights on mobile and fix the biggest images first. Our cybersecurity basics guide covers turning on two-factor sign-in for your builder and domain accounts.

How we compared

  • Sources: each provider's own pricing, plan and help pages, viewed from Australia on 18 October 2026, plus auDA, the ACCC, the OAIC, the ATO and the RBA. Speed data comes from the HTTP Archive Technology Report (September 2026).
  • Prices: standard published prices without promotions. USD prices were converted at the RBA rate on 16 October 2026 and are approximate; your AUD price at checkout may differ. GST treatment is noted where the provider states it.
  • Costs: calculated from published rates with the assumptions stated above each table. They are illustrative, and your card mix, apps and renewals will change them.
  • What we didn't do: we didn't sign up, build test sites or ask providers for quotes. There are no affiliate links, and no provider paid for inclusion. Picks follow the stated criteria; there are no scores.
  • Benchmarks reviewed: arielle.com.au's best website builders page (updated 8 September 2026), Expert Market's Australian page, Paramark's comparison (14 November 2025) and PCMag Australia's list (28 August 2026). Forbes Advisor Australia's page returned an error, and Finder and Canstar had no matching page.

Key takeaways

  • A five-page site with a .com.au and one mailbox costs about A$129 to A$633 in year one on October 2026 prices; most builders land between A$200 and A$430.
  • For a store taking A$50,000 a year online, card and platform fees outweigh the subscription: year-one totals for the plans we compared run from about A$1,263 (Hostinger Unlimited) to A$2,605 (Webflow Standard).
  • No major builder publishes an Australian data centre. VentraIP says data on its free VIPsites builder stays in Australia.
  • A .com.au needs an active ABN, ACN, ARBN or Australian trade mark and a name that matches your business or what you sell. Register it yourself at an Australian registrar.
  • Read the fine print: Wix Payments is not offered in Australia, Squarespace Basic adds a 2% store fee and GoDaddy's annual price is a first-year discount.
  • Lock-in varies: Wix sites cannot be exported and Squarespace exports only part of a site, while WordPress.com Business and Commerce include a full backup you can move.

Where to get help

Browse the marketing guides for your Google Business Profile, local SEO, reviews and email marketing.

Did this guide help you finish your task?

Optional feedback helps us see which guides need more work.

Feedback is off while site analytics is unavailable or disabled.

We report your choice and this guide’s page through site analytics. Your analytics preference applies. About feedback and privacy.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best website builder for a small business in Australia?

It depends on what the site has to do. On October 2026 prices and features, Wix Light suits a simple service site that needs to load fast on phones, Squarespace suits design-led consultants, Shopify suits product sellers, and Square Online with Square Appointments suits cafes and booking-based businesses already using Square. VentraIP's free VIPsites builder is the only option we found that says your data stays in Australia.

Which website builders host websites in Australia?

None of the major builders publishes an Australian data centre. Squarespace stores data in US data centres, WordPress.com offers US or EU locations, Webflow and Duda run on AWS, and Wix uses Google Cloud, AWS and Fastly without naming countries. All use content delivery networks that cache pages closer to visitors. VentraIP says data on its free VIPsites builder stays in Australia, and some local hosts let you choose Sydney, Melbourne or Perth servers.

Can I get a .com.au domain without an ABN?

Usually not. auDA says .com.au names are for commercial entities registered to trade in Australia or holders of an Australian trade mark, so you need an active ABN, ACN or ARBN, or an Australian trade mark or application. The name must also match your business or personal name, an acronym, your trade mark or what you sell. The shorter .au direct names only need a validated Australian connection, such as citizenship or permanent residency.

What is the cheapest website builder in Australia?

On our October 2026 figures, VentraIP's VIPsites builder is free with hosting, so year one costs about A$129 with a A$9.95 .com.au and a Google Workspace mailbox. WordPress.com Personal (A$6 a month billed yearly, excluding tax) comes to about A$201, and Hostinger Premium's A$210.72 covers 48 months upfront. Check renewal prices: Hostinger renews at A$15.89 a month, and GoDaddy's annual price includes a first-year discount.

Do website builders charge transaction fees on sales in Australia?

Some do. Squarespace adds 2% on its Basic plan, Webflow's Standard ecommerce plan adds 2%, Shopify adds 2% on Basic if you use a payment provider other than Shopify Payments, and WordPress.com adds 2% to 8% on its payment blocks below Commerce. These sit on top of card fees, such as Shopify Payments' 1.7% plus 30c or Stripe's 1.65% plus 30c for domestic cards (as at October 2026).

Is Wix or Squarespace better for an Australian small business?

Wix suits you if speed on phones and built-in bookings matter: 86% of Wix sites in the Australian Core Web Vitals data passed on mobile in September 2026, and scheduling comes with the Core plan. Squarespace suits polished design and quotes prices in Australian dollars, but its Australian mobile pass rate fell to 52% that month. Wix Payments is not available in Australia, so Wix stores connect Stripe or PayPal instead.

Can I move my website from Wix or Squarespace to another platform later?

Only partly. Wix says its sites cannot be exported or hosted elsewhere, though you can export products, orders and contacts. Squarespace exports pages and one blog in a WordPress format, but store pages, styles and custom CSS stay behind, and images cannot be exported in bulk. WordPress.com's Business and Commerce plans include a full backup you can move to any WordPress host. Keeping your domain at an independent registrar makes any move easier.

Do I have to show GST-inclusive prices on my online store?

Yes, if you sell to consumers. The ACCC says the displayed price must be a single total that includes GST and any unavoidable fees; only prices shown solely to other businesses can leave GST out. Set your store to take GST-inclusive prices: Shopify calls the setting "Include taxes in product prices", Squarespace "Include in price" and WooCommerce "Prices entered with tax". GST registration is compulsory once turnover reaches $75,000.

Should I use a website builder or pay a web designer?

Build it yourself on a builder if you need a handful of pages, can write the words and want low running costs. Pay a designer when the site has to win high-value work, needs custom features or integrations, or your time is worth more than the build. A middle path is paying a designer to set up a builder site you own and can edit yourself. Our website cost guide sets out the price bands for each route.

General information only. This guide doesn't take your personal or business circumstances into account and isn't financial, legal or tax advice. Rates and thresholds change — check the official sources linked in this guide and get qualified advice where your circumstances require it.