Business Credit Cards 2026: Fees, Rates and Liability

Business banking and loans: accounts, cards and financeFor business ownersDecision guide

Annual fees on Australian business credit and charge cards ranged from $0 (CommBank Business Low Rate) to $1,750 (American Express Platinum Business) as at 17 October 2026. Purchase rates ran from 12.99% to 20.74%, and the longest interest-free period was up to 55 days. Most small business cards make the applicant personally liable. Surcharges on card payments ended on 1 October 2026, and the ATO now accepts credit cards until 30 June 2027.

What you’ll get from this guide: Pick the card type and liability model that fits your business, test whether the rewards cover the fees using your own spend, and set up controls and bookkeeping before you hand cards to staff.

  • Annual card fees ranged from $0 to $1,750 and purchase rates from 12.99% to 20.74% across the 23 cards compared (as at 17 October 2026).
  • Most small business cards are personal liability: the applicant owes the debt. American Express makes the applicant and the business jointly and severally liable.
  • A rewards card only pays if the points you actually redeem are worth more than the fees. At an assumed 0.5 cents a point, NAB's $175 card breaks even at $28,000 a year of spend.
  • From 1 October 2026 businesses can't surcharge Visa, Mastercard, eftpos, American Express or UnionPay card payments, including payments between businesses.
  • The ATO extended direct credit card acceptance to 30 June 2027 and says it can no longer pass its card fee on to you.
  • Set a limit, a receipt rule and a monthly reconciliation for every employee card, and record the repayment as a reduction of the card debt, not a second expense.

Business credit and charge cards in Australia cost from $0 a year (CommBank Business Low Rate) to $1,750 (American Express Platinum Business) as at 17 October 2026. Purchase rates ran from 12.99% to 20.74%, with up to 55 interest-free days. Most small business cards make the applicant personally liable for the debt. Card surcharges ended on 1 October 2026, and the ATO now accepts credit cards until 30 June 2027.

This page compares 23 business, charge and corporate cards using each issuer's own published details, checked on 17 October 2026. It is general information, not financial product advice, and it doesn't consider your circumstances. Read the card's terms, key fact sheet and target market determination (TMD) before you apply, and consider getting advice.

Business card, charge card, corporate card or debit card?

Type How you repay Interest Who is liable (typically) Typical user
Business credit card Minimum repayment or more each month Charged on any unpaid balance after the interest-free period Usually the applicant personally Sole traders, partnerships, small companies
Charge card Full balance each statement No purchase rate; late fees apply Applicant and business jointly (American Express) Businesses that clear the card monthly and want rewards
Corporate card Usually full balance, from the business account Varies by facility The business Larger companies with many cardholders
Business debit or expense card Spends money already in the account None The business's own money Teams that need cards without credit

Card rules vary by issuer, so check the liability clause in the conditions of use for any card you apply for. Debit and prepaid expense cards from providers such as Airwallex, Weel and Zeller avoid debt altogether, but they don't build a credit line or earn interest-free time.

Business credit cards compared: costs

As at 17 October 2026. "Additional cards" is what the issuer publishes about employee or extra cardholder cards. Archa charges a monthly plan fee instead of an annual card fee, so it sits outside the $0 to $1,750 annual fee range quoted on this page.

Card Type Annual fee Additional cards Purchase rate Interest-free days
CommBank Business Low Rate Credit $0 1 additional cardholder 14.55% None
CommBank Business Interest-Free Days Credit $60 1 additional cardholder, $60 17.57% Up to 55
CommBank Business Platinum Credit $300 1 additional cardholder, $75 20.74% Up to 55
CommBank Corporate Low Rate / Corporate Interest-Free Days Corporate credit $40 a card (1 to 49 cards), $32 (50 to 499), $24 (500+) Unlimited 14.55% / 17.57% None / up to 55
NAB Low Rate Business Credit $60 a card, first year waived Multiple cards 13.99% Up to 55
NAB Business Card Credit, debited in full monthly $9 a month per card Multiple cards 16.50% 35
NAB Rewards Business Signature Credit $175 a card Multiple cards, $175 each 19.50% Up to 44
NAB Qantas Business Signature Credit $295 a card Multiple cards, $295 each 19.50% Up to 44
Westpac BusinessChoice Everyday Credit $75 a card, waived on a card with $15,000+ spend in the year to 30 June Up to 99 14.25% Up to 55
Westpac Altitude Business Gold Credit $150 ($0 first year) 1 free 20.24% Up to 55
Westpac Altitude Business Platinum Credit $200 ($0 first year) 1 free 20.24% Up to 55
Westpac BusinessChoice Rewards Platinum Credit $150 a card Up to 99 20.24% Up to 55
ANZ Business Low Rate Credit $100, first year waived Unlimited 12.99% None
ANZ Business 55 Interest Free Days Credit $150, first year waived Unlimited 17.74% Up to 55
ANZ Business Black Credit $300 plus $75 rewards fee per card Unlimited 20.24% Up to 44
ANZ Qantas Business Rewards Credit $300 plus $75 rewards fee per card Unlimited 20.24% Up to 44
Bendigo Business Credit Card Credit $4 a month per card Up to 99 13.99% Up to 44
Bendigo Qantas Business Credit $89 a card Up to 99, $89 each 19.99% Up to 55
St.George Amplify Business Credit $89 ($0 first year) Up to 99 19.49% Up to 55
American Express Business Gold Plus Charge $395 2 included, then $75 a year each Not applicable Up to 55 days to pay
American Express Qantas Business Rewards Charge $450 Up to 99 at no extra fee Not applicable Up to 51 days to pay
American Express Platinum Business Charge $1,750 Up to 99 at no extra fee Not applicable Up to 55 days to pay
Archa (Professional / Growth plans) Charge, settled monthly $200 / $350 a month, covering 10 / 20 cardholders Extra cardholders $20 / $17.50 Not stated 30-day line of credit

Rewards, liability, eligibility and accounting feeds

Card Rewards (as published) Liability Eligibility (as published) Feeds named
CommBank Low Rate, Interest-Free Days, Platinum None, none, CommBank rewards points Personal Individual aged 18+; minimum limit $500 ($6,000 for Platinum) Xero, MYOB
CommBank Corporate cards None Business Corporate charge card "for large organisations" Not stated
NAB Rewards Business Signature 1.25 NAB Rewards points per $1, uncapped, including ATO payments Customer liable; joint and several if more than one party ABN held 12+ months, GST-registered; new NAB customers need $75,000+ turnover; minimum limit $5,000 None named
NAB Qantas Business Signature 1 Qantas Point per $1.50, plus a bonus on Qantas spend; points capped at $50,000 spend per card per statement period As above As above None named
Westpac Altitude Business Platinum Altitude points: 2.5 per $1 overseas, 1.5 per $1 in Australia, 1 per $1 government Personal 2+ years in the same or similar business; limit $5,000 to $150,000 MYOB ($5 a month per card)
Westpac Altitude Business Gold Altitude points (earn rates on Westpac's page) Personal 2+ years' experience; limit $1,000 to $80,000 MYOB
Westpac BusinessChoice Rewards Platinum 0.75 Qantas Points per $1.50 (0.5 per $1.50 government); cap 100,000 points per facility per month Personal or business ABN 12+ months; GST-registered; partnership, company or incorporated association; limit $2,000 to $250,000 MYOB
Westpac BusinessChoice Everyday None Business As above MYOB
ANZ Business Black 1.5 points per $1 up to $10,000 per statement, then 1; tax payments 0.5 Account holder; joint and several if more than one party Minimum limit $5,000; turnover up to $75 million Xero, MYOB, QuickBooks Online
ANZ Qantas Business Rewards 0.75 Qantas Points per $1 up to $15,000 per statement, then 0.5; tax payments 0.5 As above As above, plus Qantas Business Rewards membership Xero, MYOB, QuickBooks Online
Bendigo Business Credit Card None Company, individual or joint and several (partnerships) Not stated MYOB upload
St.George Amplify Business Amplify points: 1.5 per $1 in Australia, 2.5 overseas, 1 government (Qantas option available) Personal 18+, Australian address MYOB export
American Express Business Gold Plus 1.5 points per $1; up to 3 at selected business merchants on the first 200,000 points a year; 1 per $1 government Applicant and business, jointly and severally Revenue $75,000+, GST-registered ABN, director or controller aged 18+ Xero, QuickBooks Online, MYOB
American Express Qantas Business Rewards 1.25 Qantas Points per $1, falling to 0.75 after 500,000 points in a calendar year; 0.5 on government, utilities and insurance As above As above MYOB, Quicken, Excel
American Express Platinum Business 2.25 points per $1; 1 per $1 government As above As above QuickBooks, MYOB, Xero
Archa $2 = 1 point on the base tier, up to $1 = 2 points; uncapped Archa says some small business cards need no personal guarantee Not stated Xero, MYOB

Who is liable for the debt?

This is the most important line in any business card application, and it is often in the small print.

Liability model Who owes the money Examples (as published by the issuer)
Personal liability The individual applicant, including spending on any additional card CommBank Low Rate, Interest-Free Days, Business Awards and Business Platinum; Westpac Altitude Business; St.George Amplify Business
Joint and several The applicant and the business each owe the full amount American Express business cards; NAB commercial cards where the customer is more than one party; Bendigo's option for partnerships
Business (corporate) liability The business entity CommBank corporate cards; Westpac BusinessChoice Everyday; Bendigo's company liability option

What that means for each structure:

  • Sole traders are personally liable for every business debt in any case, because the business isn't a separate legal entity. A business card mainly helps you separate spending. See sole trader vs company.
  • Company directors should not assume a company card protects them. CommBank says that with its personal liability cards it recovers amounts from you, not from the company that employs you. Corporate facilities may also require security or guarantees, which NAB's conditions say are listed in the letter of offer.
  • Guarantors have protections under the Banking Code of Practice for banks that subscribe to it. The 2025 code says a guarantee must be limited to a stated amount or property, the bank must give you key documents, and it can't accept the guarantee until the third day after you receive them. You can withdraw before credit is provided.

American Express's business card conditions also say that because the account is used wholly or predominantly for business purposes, you may lose protection under the National Credit Code. Read the hardship and dispute sections before you sign, and know that complaints can go to the Australian Financial Complaints Authority.

Do the rewards cover the fees? A break-even test

Rewards only pay if the points you actually redeem are worth more than the fees. A point's value depends on what you redeem it for, so this illustrative table uses two assumed values, 0.5 cents and 1 cent a point. Replace them with your own.

Break-even annual spend = annual fees ÷ (points per $1 × value of one point)

Card Annual fees used Points per $1 used Break-even at 0.5c a point Break-even at 1c a point
NAB Rewards Business Signature $175 1.25 $28,000 $14,000
Westpac Altitude Business Platinum (after year one) $200 1.5 (Australian spend) $26,667 $13,333
ANZ Business Black $375 ($300 + $75) 1.5 $50,000 $25,000
American Express Business Gold Plus $395 1.5 $52,667 $26,333
American Express Qantas Business Rewards $450 1.25 $72,000 $36,000
NAB Qantas Business Signature $295 0.67 (1 per $1.50) $88,500 $44,250
American Express Platinum Business $1,750 2.25 $155,556 $77,778

Fees and earn rates as at 17 October 2026. The test ignores sign-up bonuses, earn caps, lower earn on government and tax payments, extra-card fees and the value of perks such as lounge access.

Illustrative example: one year, one card. A business puts $6,000 a month on a card ($72,000 a year), including $1,000 a month of ATO payments, and redeems points at an assumed 0.5 cents.

Card Points earned Value at 0.5c Fees Net
NAB Rewards Business Signature $72,000 × 1.25 = 90,000 $450 $175 $275
ANZ Business Black ($60,000 × 1.5) + ($12,000 × 0.5) = 96,000 $480 $375 $105
CommBank Business Low Rate None $0 $0 $0, but see interest below

Two costs can wipe this out:

  • Carrying a balance. Carrying the full $6,000 for one extra month on the NAB card costs about $6,000 × 19.50% ÷ 12 = $97.50, more than a third of the net reward.
  • No interest-free days. CommBank says its Business Low Rate card has no interest-free period, so interest runs from each purchase. If purchases sat on the card for an average of 25 days before repayment, the interest would be about $6,000 × 14.55% × 25 ÷ 365 = $59.79 a month, or $717.48 a year.

A low rate card suits a balance you expect to carry. A card with interest-free days suits spending you clear every month. Rewards come last, after you know which of those you'll do.

What changed in 2026: surcharges, interchange and rewards

From 1 October 2026 the RBA allowed card networks to ban surcharges. The RBA says eftpos, Mastercard and Visa introduced no-surcharge rules from that date, American Express and UnionPay no longer permit surcharging, and PayPal's rule took effect on 5 October. The rules apply to credit, debit and prepaid cards, including cards issued overseas.

What it means for you as a card holder What it means for you as a merchant
Surcharges You shouldn't be surcharged on these cards, including business-to-business card payments unless a network rule or law exempts them Remove card surcharges; build acceptance costs into prices instead
Exceptions Weekend and public holiday surcharges and booking or service fees are not affected Same; surcharges on non-card methods aren't regulated by the RBA
Invoices An invoice issued before 1 October but paid after it may no longer carry a surcharge Re-issue or adjust affected invoices
Discounts You may be offered a discount for paying another way You can offer discounts for particular payment methods, or stop taking cards (subject to any cash acceptance obligations)
Costs Issuers may change rewards, fees or features Lower interchange caps apply to domestic cards from 1 October 2026; large acquirers must publish fee information from 30 October 2026

The RBA also cut the interchange cap on consumer credit cards to 0.3% while keeping the cap on commercial (business) credit cards at 0.8%, and removed the benchmark for both. It said interchange should not be used to fund cardholder rewards and noted that issuers indicated they were likely to review rewards programs, fees and other features. Check your card's current earn rate and annual fee rather than relying on last year's figures.

If you take card payments, work through our card surcharge checklist, read your merchant statement and compare EFTPOS machines.

Paying the ATO with a business credit card

The ATO first announced it would stop accepting credit cards after 30 November 2026. On 9 October 2026 it extended that: the ATO will keep accepting credit card payments for tax until 30 June 2027, after discussions with the government and transitional funding. Its easy-read guidance says a rule that started on 1 October 2026 means it can't ask you to pay the card fee.

After 30 June 2027, the ATO says taxpayers can use third-party payment providers and should weigh their fees, charges and processing times. Our guides to the ATO credit card change, Pay.com.au, Sniip and Pay.com.au vs Sniip compare the options.

Earn rates on tax payments are often lower than on other spending. NAB's Rewards Business Signature earns 1.25 points per $1 including ATO payments, while ANZ's business rewards cards earn 0.5 points per $1 on tax payments and American Express's Qantas card earns 0.5 Qantas Points per $1 on government payments (as at 17 October 2026). If the card is how you cover a tax bill you can't otherwise pay, talk to the ATO first. Our guide to preparing for an ATO payment plan covers that conversation.

Using a business card for cash flow, and the risks

Interest-free days are a maximum. ANZ, for example, says interest-free days don't apply if you don't pay the closing balance in full by the due date. The actual gap depends on where your purchase falls in the statement cycle: a purchase on the last day of the cycle gets only the days until the due date.

Used deliberately, a card can bridge a short gap between paying a supplier and being paid by a customer. Used by default, it becomes expensive debt at around 20%. Before relying on one:

  • Put the card's due dates into your 13-week cash flow forecast alongside wages and BAS.
  • Test a late customer payment. If the card can only be cleared when your biggest customer pays on time, plan for the month they don't.
  • Avoid cash advances, which carry their own rate (for example, 21.74% on NAB's Signature cards) and are excluded from interest-free days on cards such as NAB's Business Card.
  • Compare an overdraft or line of credit for longer gaps. See business overdraft vs line of credit and unsecured business loans.

Controls for employee cards

Every extra card is spending authority. Before you issue one:

  1. Set an individual limit. Westpac's BusinessChoice cards allow individual limits from $1,000 on up to 99 cards, and CommBank lets you lock, block or limit its cards in the app.
  2. Write a one-page card policy: what the card is for, what it isn't, and the receipt deadline.
  3. Require a receipt for every transaction within a set number of days, uploaded to your accounting or expense software.
  4. Check the liability model. On a personal liability card, the primary cardholder owes the debt for the employee's spending.
  5. Review statements monthly and query anything without a receipt the same week.
  6. Cancel cards the day someone leaves. Add it to your handover checklist.
  7. Consider debit or expense cards for staff who only need to spend small, budgeted amounts. Zeller lists corporate cards at $9 a card per month, and Airwallex company cards are free to create (as at 17 October 2026).

Card fraud often arrives as a convincing email. Our guide to scams targeting small business covers the common ones.

Recording card spending in your books

A business card account is a liability in your books, not a bank account. Record each purchase when you record what was bought, and treat the monthly repayment as a reduction of the card debt. Coding the repayment as another expense counts the spending twice. Our guide to credit card repayments in your books walks through a full example.

  • Feeds: connect the card feed so each purchase arrives separately. Check the cost: Westpac charges $5 a month per card for data feeds (as at 17 October 2026). Our bank feeds guide explains how feeds work.
  • GST: the card statement doesn't replace the supplier's tax invoice. See missing tax invoice.
  • Private spending: if something personal goes on the business card, record it correctly with our guide to personal purchases through a business account.
  • Fees and interest: the ATO lists bank fees and charges, and interest on money borrowed to produce assessable income, among deductible operating expenses. Only the business portion of mixed-use costs is claimable.

How to choose a business credit card

  1. Decide whether you'll carry a balance. If yes, compare purchase rates. If no, compare interest-free days and fees.
  2. Decide who should be liable. A sole trader is liable regardless. A company may prefer business liability, which can bring stricter eligibility.
  3. Count the cards you need. Per-card fees multiply quickly: six NAB Rewards Business Signature cards cost $1,050 a year.
  4. Run the break-even test with your own spend and a realistic point value.
  5. Check eligibility before applying. NAB asks for an ABN held 12 months and GST registration, Westpac's Altitude cards want two years in the same or a similar business, and American Express asks for $75,000 or more in revenue.
  6. Check the feed for your software and whether it costs extra.
  7. Read the conditions of use for the liability, guarantee and hardship clauses.

Key takeaways

  • Annual card fees ranged from $0 to $1,750 and purchase rates from 12.99% to 20.74% across the 23 cards compared (as at 17 October 2026).
  • Most small business cards are personal liability: the applicant owes the debt. American Express makes the applicant and the business jointly and severally liable.
  • A rewards card only pays if the points you actually redeem are worth more than the fees. At an assumed 0.5 cents a point, NAB's $175 card breaks even at $28,000 a year of spend.
  • From 1 October 2026 businesses can't surcharge Visa, Mastercard, eftpos, American Express or UnionPay card payments, including payments between businesses.
  • The ATO extended direct credit card acceptance to 30 June 2027 and says it can no longer pass its card fee on to you.
  • Set a limit, a receipt rule and a monthly reconciliation for every employee card, and record the repayment as a reduction of the card debt, not a second expense.

Where to get help

Browse every guide on business banking and loans.

Did this guide help you finish your task?

Optional feedback helps us see which guides need more work.

Feedback is off while site analytics is unavailable or disabled.

We report your choice and this guide’s page through site analytics. Your analytics preference applies. About feedback and privacy.

Frequently asked questions

Can a sole trader get a business credit card?

Yes. Several banks aim personal liability business cards at sole traders, such as Westpac's Altitude Business cards, and CommBank's business cards are held by an individual. You will usually need an ABN and to pass the bank's credit assessment, and some cards set further rules, such as NAB's requirement that the ABN has been held for 12 months. As a sole trader you are personally liable for the debt either way.

Who is responsible for business credit card debt?

It depends on the card's liability model. With a personal liability card, CommBank says you, not the business, owe all amounts, including spending by additional cardholders. With a business liability (corporate) card, the business owes the debt. American Express makes the applicant and the business jointly and severally liable. Directors may also be asked for personal guarantees, so read the letter of offer.

Can I still pay the ATO with a credit card?

Yes, for now. On 9 October 2026 the ATO said it will keep accepting credit card payments for tax until 30 June 2027, instead of stopping after 30 November 2026. The ATO says a rule that started on 1 October 2026 stops it asking you to pay the card fee. After 30 June 2027 you would need a third-party payment provider, which charges its own fees.

Can a business still charge a credit card surcharge?

Not on most cards. The RBA says eftpos, Mastercard and Visa introduced no-surcharge rules from 1 October 2026, American Express and UnionPay no longer permit surcharging, and PayPal's rule started on 5 October. Card payments between businesses are not exempt unless a network rule or law says so. Weekend and public holiday surcharges and booking fees are not affected.

What is the difference between a business credit card and a charge card?

A credit card lets you carry a balance and charges interest on anything not paid by the due date. A charge card expects the full balance to be paid each statement period, so it usually has no purchase interest rate. American Express's business charge cards give up to 51 or 55 days to pay. Some charge cards offer an optional facility to pay over time, with interest.

Is business credit card interest tax deductible?

The ATO lists bank fees and charges, and interest on money borrowed to produce assessable income, as deductible business operating expenses. If the card is used for both business and private spending, only the business portion is claimable. The annual fee, interest and other charges each need records, so keep statements and ask your tax agent how they apply to you.

Are business credit cards covered by consumer credit law?

Often not in full. American Express's business card conditions say that because the account is used wholly or predominantly for business purposes, you may lose protection under the National Credit Code. Banks that subscribe to the Banking Code of Practice give small business customers some protections under that code, including rules for guarantors. Complaints can go to AFCA.

How many interest-free days do business credit cards give?

Up to 55 days on many cards, up to 44 days on others, and none on low rate cards such as CommBank Business Low Rate and ANZ Business Low Rate (as at 17 October 2026). The figure is a maximum. It depends on when in the statement cycle you buy, and it only applies if you pay the closing balance in full by the due date.

General information only. This guide doesn't take your personal or business circumstances into account and isn't financial, legal or tax advice. Rates and thresholds change — check the official sources linked in this guide and get qualified advice where your circumstances require it.