Business Overdraft vs Line of Credit: 2026 Cost Guide

Business banking and loans: accounts, cards and financeFor business ownersDecision guide

A business overdraft lets your transaction account go below zero up to an agreed limit. A business line of credit is a separate revolving facility you draw from into your account. Both charge interest only on the drawn balance, but you also pay for the limit: major-bank overdraft line fees ran from 1.20% to 1.75% p.a. of the limit in October 2026, and non-bank lines add establishment, weekly service or unused-limit fees. Overdrafts are usually repayable on demand; lines of credit usually have scheduled minimum repayments and periodic reviews.

What you’ll get from this guide: Choose between an overdraft and a line of credit for your cash flow pattern, size the limit so you are not paying for headroom you never use, and work out the real annual cost of each offer.

  • Both charge interest only on what you draw, but fees on the limit mean an oversized facility costs money even when it is untouched.
  • Published unsecured overdraft rates in October 2026 were 15.05% to 16.50% p.a. at the major banks, with line fees of 1.20% to 1.75% p.a. of the limit.
  • Overdrafts usually have no set repayments but can be called in on demand; lines of credit usually have weekly or monthly minimums and scheduled reviews.
  • In our illustrative seasonal year, an $80,000 overdraft cost about 21% of the average amount actually drawn once the line fee was counted.
  • Use a term loan or equipment finance for long-term purchases, and invoice finance when the gap is caused by business customers paying slowly.

A business overdraft lets your transaction account go below zero up to an agreed limit. A line of credit is a separate revolving facility you draw from into your account. Both charge interest only on what you use, but you also pay for the limit, and overdrafts are usually repayable on demand. Choose on how often, how much and how long you'll need to draw.

This is general information, not financial product advice, and it doesn't consider your circumstances. Read the facility terms, fee schedule and any target market determination, and consider getting advice before you apply.

Overdraft vs line of credit at a glance

Based on lender information checked 17 October 2026.

Business overdraft Business line of credit
What it is Your business transaction account can go negative, up to a limit A separate revolving limit; you draw funds into your account
How you use the money Spend straight from the account: transfers, card, EFTPOS, ATMs, cheques Request a drawdown (for example in the Prospa app); ScotPac sets a $5,000 minimum for further drawdowns
Published limits $2,000–$250,000 unsecured (CommBank, Westpac); $5,000–$50,000 (NAB QuickBiz) Up to $500,000 (Prospa, ScotPac); up to $1m (Lumi); $50,000–$2m (Liberty)
Interest Variable, calculated daily on the overdrawn balance Calculated daily on the drawn balance; fixed or variable
Fees for the limit Line or service fee on the whole limit: 1.20%–1.75% p.a. at the major banks Weekly service fee on the limit (Prospa 0.046%), an upfront establishment fee (ScotPac 2%–3%) or a fee on the unused part (Liberty 1% p.a.)
Repayments No set repayments; deposits reduce the balance Usually scheduled minimums: weekly (Prospa, Lumi) or monthly (Liberty)
Review and demand Ongoing; generally repayable on demand Ongoing with reviews: Prospa checks in every 2 years; Liberty charges an annual review fee
Security Unsecured or secured by property or business assets Unsecured up to a threshold (Prospa $150,000; Lumi most to $300,000) or secured

How a business overdraft works

An overdraft is attached to your business transaction account. When the balance drops below zero, you're borrowing. Every deposit, from customer payments to card settlements, automatically reduces what you owe. NAB describes it as a revolving line of credit linked to your transaction account, with no formal repayments.

You pay for it in two ways:

  • Interest on the overdrawn balance. NAB calculates QuickBiz overdraft interest daily on the funds used and charges it on the last banking day of the month. Published unsecured rates in October 2026 were 15.05% p.a. (CommBank), 16.45% p.a. (ANZ GoBiz) and 16.50% p.a. (NAB QuickBiz). Secured overdrafts cost less: CommBank's secured rate started at 9.00% p.a., and Westpac advertised from 8.36% p.a. depending on security.
  • A fee for the limit. This is the cost many owners miss. Westpac charges a 1.20% p.a. line fee on the total limit, charged monthly; on a $10,000 limit that's $10.20 in a 31-day month. CommBank charges 1.70% p.a. on the higher of the limit or the balance. NAB QuickBiz charges a 1.75% p.a. service fee on the approved limit. ANZ says a fee is charged for the total limit.

Going over the limit costs more. CommBank says an overdrawing approval fee and an excess drawing interest rate may apply, and the line fee then applies to the full balance including the excess.

Repayable on demand

Overdrafts are generally on-demand facilities. The Banking Code says that for an overdraft or on-demand facility, a bank may not be required to give you any notice when it requires repayment. That's very different from a term loan, where a Code bank must give at least 30 days' notice of a missed payment before demanding full repayment. Banks don't usually call in a well-run overdraft without warning, but the right exists, so an overdraft shouldn't fund anything you can't repay quickly.

What overdrafts are for

business.gov.au describes overdrafts as suited to short-term gaps, not capital purchases or long-term financing. NAB lists the same limitation and adds that an overdraft can create false security and hide ongoing cash flow problems. An account that never returns to credit is a warning sign; our guide to tracking overdraft headroom and returning to credit sets out a plan.

How a business line of credit works

A line of credit is a revolving limit you can draw on, repay and draw again, paying interest only on what you've borrowed. Instead of letting your everyday account go negative, you move money from the facility into your account when you need it.

The details vary more than overdrafts do:

  • Prospa: limits up to $500,000; interest calculated daily on the drawn balance at a fixed rate it doesn't publish; a weekly service fee of 0.046% of the facility limit; no establishment fee. Weekly minimum repayments cover interest and some principal plus the fee, and rise and fall with the balance. Prospa checks in every two years; if the facility isn't continued, the balance is repaid over a two- or four-year paydown period.
  • Lumi: up to $1m, from 15.5% APR, weekly repayments; Lumi says there are no ongoing or early repayment fees.
  • ScotPac: up to the lesser of $500,000 or 200% of average monthly sales, with a one-off establishment fee of 3% for limits of $50,000 to $200,000 and 2% above that, and a $5,000 minimum for further drawdowns.
  • Liberty: $50,000 to $2m from 10.45% p.a., monthly repayments, and a fee of 1% p.a. on unused funds, plus establishment, monthly, annual review and discharge fees.

Two things set lines of credit apart in practice. First, scheduled repayments force the balance down, which is good discipline but less flexible than an overdraft in a slow month. Second, the review or check-in date matters: if the lender doesn't renew, you move to a paydown schedule.

The differences that matter

Feature Overdraft Line of credit What to check
Limit Set at approval; reviewed by the bank Set at approval; some tie it to sales (ScotPac: up to 200% of average monthly sales) Whether the limit can grow with turnover
How interest is charged Daily on the negative balance, usually variable Daily on the drawn balance; fixed (Prospa) or variable Whether interest is charged monthly or weekly
Limit or line fees 1.20%–1.75% p.a. of the whole limit at major banks; CommBank uses the higher of limit or balance Weekly fee on the limit (Prospa) or none ongoing (Lumi) The fee in dollars on your actual limit
Unused-limit fees Built into the line fee Some charge only on the unused part (Liberty 1% p.a.) Whether a big unused limit is cheap or expensive
Upfront fees Establishment fee set in the letter of offer (CommBank); none via ANZ GoBiz 2%–3% (ScotPac); $1,950 or 1.25% (Liberty); none (Prospa) Total fees in year 1
Repayments None scheduled Weekly or monthly minimums Whether minimums fit your slow months
Review and demand Generally repayable on demand Periodic review; paydown if not renewed What happens at review and how long the paydown runs
Security Unsecured to $200,000–$250,000 at the banks, or secured Unsecured to $150,000–$300,000 at some non-banks, or secured Guarantees and security registrations

Overdrafts and lines of credit compared: main lenders (October 2026)

From each lender's own pages, checked 17 October 2026. Rates are published or from-rates, not offers. Order is not a ranking. "Not stated" means we couldn't find it on public pages.

Business overdrafts

Product Limit Published rate Fee on the limit Other fees Security
CommBank Business Overdraft Unsecured $2,000–$250,000; secured from $2,000 Unsecured from 15.05% p.a.; secured from 9.00% p.a. (variable, as at 9 Oct 2026) Line fee 1.70% p.a. on the higher of limit or balance Establishment fee in letter of offer; overdrawing approval fee and excess interest may apply Unsecured, or residential, rural or commercial property
Westpac Business Overdraft Up to $250,000 unsecured From 8.36% p.a. variable, depending on security Line fee 1.20% p.a. of total limit, charged monthly Establishment and other fees may apply Unsecured option; asset and guarantee may be required
NAB QuickBiz Overdraft $5,000–$50,000 16.50% p.a. variable Service fee 1.75% p.a. on approved limit Not stated Unsecured
ANZ GoBiz Business Overdraft $2,000–$200,000 unsecured 16.45% p.a. (ANZ rate data effective 9 Oct 2026) Fee on total limit (amount in ANZ fee schedule) No approval fee via GoBiz Unsecured; director guarantee may be needed; GSA may be needed from $200,000 to $300,000

Business lines of credit

Product Limit Published rate Fees Repayments Eligibility
Prospa Business Line of Credit Up to $500,000 Fixed; not published Weekly service fee 0.046% of the limit; no establishment fee; missed-repayment fee Weekly minimums; 2-year check-in 2 years trading; $6,000 a month turnover
Lumi Business Line of Credit Up to $1m From 15.5% APR No ongoing or early repayment fees stated Weekly 6 months; $50,000 a year revenue
ScotPac Line of Credit Lesser of $500,000 or 200% of average monthly sales Not published Establishment fee 3% ($50,000–$200,000 limits) or 2% (above $200,000) Not stated 12 months trading; $50,000 a month in sales
Liberty line of credit $50,000–$2m From 10.45% p.a. (effective 16 Oct 2026) $1,950 or 1.25% establishment (greater); 1% p.a. on unused funds; $30 a month; $545 annual review; $395 discharge Monthly, principal and interest or interest-only No minimum time in business; security assessed
Bizcap Line of Credit Up to $750,000 Not published Not stated Not stated Most Bizcap loans: 4 months trading, $12,000 a month

Suncorp Bank, now part of the ANZ Group, is no longer accepting applications for business loans and finance, including overdrafts.

Illustrative cost over a seasonal year

Take a business whose busy season needs stock and staff months before customers pay. Its cash flow forecast shows these average drawn balances, peaking at $70,000 in November:

Month Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun
Average drawn $5k $15k $35k $55k $70k $45k $15k $0 $0 $5k $20k $10k

The average drawn balance across the year is $22,917. Here's what four structures would cost, using assumed rates modelled on published fee structures, not quotes:

Facility (illustrative) Interest Fees Year 1 total Cost as % of average drawn
Overdraft, $80,000 limit: 15% p.a. plus 1.70% p.a. fee on the limit $3,438 $1,360 $4,798 About 21%
Same overdraft with a $150,000 limit $3,438 $2,550 $5,988 About 26%
Line of credit, $80,000 limit: 12% p.a., 1% p.a. on unused limit, $30 a month, $1,950 establishment fee $2,750 $2,881 $5,631 (year 2: $4,226) About 25% (year 2: 18%)
Term loan: $70,000 in July over 12 months at 13% p.a. $5,027 Not included $5,027 About 22%

What the numbers show:

  1. Headroom costs money. Taking a $150,000 limit "just in case" added $1,190 a year in line fees without a dollar more being drawn.
  2. Upfront fees dominate year one. The line of credit's lower rate and unused-limit fee made it the cheaper option from year two, but its establishment fee made it the dearer one in year one.
  3. The headline rate understates the cost. A 15% overdraft cost about 21% of the money actually used once the line fee was counted.
  4. A term loan fights the season. The $70,000 loan needs repayments of $6,252 a month from the first month, including February and March when the business has nothing to spare.

Run your own version with the 13-week cash flow forecast template. If the peak comes from stock bought ahead of a season, map the seasonal stock cash gap first.

When each one suits

Situation Overdraft Line of credit Something else
Seasonal cash flow that returns to credit each year Good fit: no set repayments in slow months Good fit if minimum repayments are manageable
Ongoing working capital for a stock cycle Works, but watch for a balance that never clears Good fit: draw for each order, repay as stock sells Trade finance for import orders
An emergency buffer you hope not to use Simple, but you pay the line fee every year Cheaper if the fee is only on unused funds A cash buffer in savings
A large contract that pays in 60 or 90 days Can bridge a short gap Can bridge a longer gap Invoice finance; see funding a large contract
A vehicle, fit-out or equipment Poor fit: on-demand, variable Poor fit unless repaid quickly Equipment finance or a term loan
Losses every month Poor fit Poor fit Fix the cause; see cash flow management

How they compare with credit cards and invoice finance

Overdraft Line of credit Business credit card Invoice finance
Suits Short, irregular gaps Repeated, planned drawdowns Purchases you can clear each month Waiting on business customers to pay
Example pricing (October 2026) 15.05%–16.50% p.a. unsecured plus 1.20%–1.75% p.a. on the limit From 10.45% p.a. to 15.5% APR published; several by quote 13.99% p.a. with up to 55 interest-free days and a $60 card fee (NAB Low Rate Business Card) By quote; ScotPac advances up to 85% of eligible invoices
Interest-free period No No Yes, if you pay in full No
Limit grows with sales Only on review Sometimes (ScotPac ties it to sales) Only on review Yes, with eligible invoices
Main risk Called in on demand Paydown if not renewed High cost if you carry a balance Fees on every invoice; customer may deal with the financier

Credit cards. A card is cheap only if you clear it in full. Our business credit cards guide compares the options, and if you were thinking of paying tax on a card, read our guide to the ATO credit card ban 2026 first.

Invoice finance. This works when the gap is caused by customers' payment terms. Illustrative example with assumed pricing: on $40,000 of invoices due in 45 days, an 80% advance of $32,000, a 1% service fee ($400) and a 12% p.a. discount charge for 45 days ($473) cost $873, which is about 22% a year on the money advanced. Ask for an actual quote, and compare it with chasing payment faster: see how to chase unpaid invoices and measuring days sales outstanding. Business loans without property explains factoring and confidential invoice discounting.

Fees to ask about before you sign

  • Establishment or approval fee, and whether it can be added to the facility
  • The line, service or unused-limit fee: rate, what it's charged on (limit, balance or unused amount) and how often
  • The interest rate, whether it's fixed or variable, and what it's linked to
  • Excess or over-limit interest and any overdrawing approval fee
  • Monthly account or service fees, including on the linked transaction account
  • Annual review, renewal, variation and discharge fees
  • Missed-payment fees and minimum drawdown amounts
  • Security registration and valuation costs, and whether a guarantee is required
  • What happens at review: notice period, and the paydown schedule if the lender doesn't renew

Managing the facility well

More planning tools are in our cash flow and getting paid guides.

Your rights if the lender changes or calls in the facility

Business facilities generally sit outside the National Credit Code, which ASIC says applies to credit for personal, domestic or household purposes, or residential investment, provided to individuals or strata corporations. That means the Code's consumer protections, including hardship provisions and comparison rates, may not apply to your overdraft or line of credit.

For banks that subscribe to the Banking Code, these small business commitments are relevant:

  • On-demand facilities: a bank may not be required to give notice when it requires repayment of an overdraft or other on-demand facility.
  • Payment defaults on other loans: at least 30 days' notice before demanding full repayment or enforcing.
  • No catch-all clauses: standard form small business loans can't include a default based on unspecified "material adverse change".
  • Ending a loan: if a loan with a scheduled end date won't be fully repaid by its regular repayments, and you're not in default, the bank must give at least three months' notice if it decides not to extend.

ASIC says unfair contract term protections cover standard form small business contracts, so one-sided variation or default terms can be challenged. The Banking Code applies to banks that subscribe to it. If your lender is a non-bank, ask which industry code, if any, it follows, and read its review and paydown terms closely. If a dispute arises, the Australian Financial Complaints Authority handles small business complaints against member lenders.

Key takeaways

  • Both charge interest only on what you draw, but fees on the limit mean an oversized facility costs money even when it is untouched.
  • Published unsecured overdraft rates in October 2026 were 15.05% to 16.50% p.a. at the major banks, with line fees of 1.20% to 1.75% p.a. of the limit.
  • Overdrafts usually have no set repayments but can be called in on demand; lines of credit usually have weekly or monthly minimums and scheduled reviews.
  • In our illustrative seasonal year, an $80,000 overdraft cost about 21% of the average amount actually drawn once the line fee was counted.
  • Use a term loan or equipment finance for long-term purchases, and invoice finance when the gap is caused by business customers paying slowly.

Where to get help

Browse all guides in business banking and loans.

Did this guide help you finish your task?

Optional feedback helps us see which guides need more work.

Feedback is off while site analytics is unavailable or disabled.

We report your choice and this guide’s page through site analytics. Your analytics preference applies. About feedback and privacy.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between a business overdraft and a line of credit?

An overdraft is attached to your business transaction account and lets the balance go negative up to a limit, so you spend directly from the account. A line of credit is a separate facility you draw from into your account. Both charge interest only on what you use. Overdrafts usually have no set repayments and can be called in on demand, while lines of credit usually have scheduled minimum repayments and reviews.

Is a business overdraft cheaper than a business loan?

It depends on how much and how long you borrow. Unsecured overdraft rates published in October 2026 (15.05% to 16.50% p.a. at the major banks) were higher than unsecured bank loan rates (12.95% to 13.09% p.a.), and you pay a line fee on the whole limit. An overdraft can still cost less overall if you only draw part of the limit for part of the year.

Do you pay fees on an unused overdraft?

Usually, yes. CommBank charges a 1.70% p.a. line fee on the higher of the limit or the balance, Westpac 1.20% p.a. of the total limit and NAB QuickBiz a 1.75% p.a. service fee on the approved limit. Some lines of credit charge instead on the unused part, such as Liberty's 1% p.a., or a weekly fee on the limit, such as Prospa's 0.046%.

Can the bank cancel my overdraft or demand repayment?

Yes, overdrafts are generally on-demand facilities. The Banking Code says a bank may not be required to give any notice when it requires repayment of an overdraft or on-demand facility, although it must follow the Code if it enforces another loan on the same default. Keep the account in credit regularly and talk to your banker early if your trading changes.

Do I need security for a business overdraft?

Not always. CommBank and Westpac offer unsecured overdrafts of up to $250,000, NAB QuickBiz up to $50,000 and ANZ GoBiz up to $200,000. Secured overdrafts backed by property carry lower rates: CommBank's secured overdraft started at 9.00% p.a. against 15.05% p.a. unsecured in October 2026. Unsecured facilities may still need a director's guarantee.

How big should my overdraft or line of credit limit be?

Size it to the largest gap your cash flow forecast shows, plus a buffer for a late-paying customer, rather than the largest limit offered. With a fee on the limit, every unused $10,000 costs about $170 a year at a 1.70% p.a. line fee. Build a 13-week forecast and track your headroom so you know your real peak.

Should I use a business credit card instead of an overdraft?

A card suits purchases you can clear in full each month. NAB's Low Rate Business Card, for example, offered up to 55 interest-free days on business purchases at 13.99% p.a. with a $60 annual card fee (as at 3 August 2026). Wages and many supplier bills are paid by bank transfer rather than card, and the interest-free benefit only works if you clear the balance, so an overdraft or line usually suits ongoing gaps better.

How quickly can I get a business overdraft or line of credit?

Online applications can be fast. NAB says QuickBiz overdraft funds can be available the same business day once approved and documents are accepted, CommBank offers instant decisions to some existing customers in NetBank, and Lumi and ScotPac advertise same-day or next-day funding. Secured facilities take longer because property has to be valued and security registered.

General information only. This guide doesn't take your personal or business circumstances into account and isn't financial, legal or tax advice. Rates and thresholds change — check the official sources linked in this guide and get qualified advice where your circumstances require it.